The TeleGraham

Bates College through the eyes of a junior returning from abroad

Observations by a Visitor

Unfortunatly, my sister came up on Wednesday and taking care of her has chewed up all my free time. It’s very exciting to have visitors but it is also a huge stress on the host. Today will be her third full day and tomorrow she won’t leave until 5pm. Balancing all of this with my work is tricky buisness and right now I am in the library making a list of all the work I still need to do for my classes and all the cool places I need to take my sister.

 Here’s the great thing about Bates though. Everything goes so much smoother when I let my sister intermingle with my friends when I am not around. Maybe I am just a bad mediator in these kinds of situations, but my sister has noticed one specific trait about all my friends here at Bates. She said that none of them are too shy, none of them are too cool, and all of them are interested in talking to her even when I’m not around.

 Morel, that’s her name, graduated from a larger southern school two years ago and since a lot of my friends are senior right now she also noticed a trait about them too. She said that at her school when seniors talked about what they were doing, the conversation would turn into a discussion of med schools, law schools, and working for consulting firms. But at Bates (though many of my friends are headed off to med school and law school) when you ask a senior what they are up to, they are super excited about what their thesis is about, what kind of camping/road trip they will do over February break, and whether or not there will be good skiing tomorrow.

 Take this for what you will. I’m out.

-Graham

February 2, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

